Desperate Housewife

  • 6am Rise and Shine
  • Prayer
  • Review Planner
  • Morning Routine(Husband, Kids, etc)
  • Work from Home
  • Errands/Cook Dinner/Clean
  • Relax with the Family
  • Bedtime

Does any of that look familiar?  Taking a glimpse at my day doesn’t look much different from any other wife/mother in the world!  No matter what race, nationality, geographic location, or socioeconomic status, we have a ” plan” for our day.  And the running theme……never taking time for yourself!  I know for me, its hard penciling myself in.  Taking care of my husband, children, and the household always seems to rise to the top, while my needs lag in the distance.  Having a need to run the household like Bree Van de Kamp…perfect and perky, all while wearing pearls is a goal most of us try to acheive.

IMG_0844
Bree Van de Kamp photo credit: ABC Series-Desperate Housewives

But being perfect in God’s eyes is what I now strive for.  I had become desperate for alone time, for me time, for personal time…just to hear my own thoughts, to seek God for MY benefit, to see what’s in store for me.  Desperation is a barren place, where most of us don’t wanna be.  The definition alone-“feeling, showing, or involving a sense of hopelessness”, is like a dirty secret we dare not utter, but that’s where I was. One thing I’ve learned, if I suck, it’s pretty much down hill for the family!  So being desperate led me to seek after God more and more.  I became deserate for him……a desperate housewife.

Psalm 142:25-7 (NIV)

I cry to you, Lord;
    I say, “You are my refuge,
    my portion in the land of the living.”

Listen to my cry,
    for I am in desperate need;
rescue me from those who pursue me,
    for they are too strong for me.
Set me free from my prison,
    that I may praise your name.
Then the righteous will gather about me
    because of your goodness to me.

Desperately seeking Him-

 ❤ bbprep

One thought on “Desperate Housewife

Leave a Reply

